Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
A building permit is needed to construct, enlarge, alter, repair, move or demolish a building or structure.
Show All Answers
The Bay County floodplain ordinance and section 404.5 and section 606.2.4 of the Florida Existing Building Code would require the structure to meet the current floodplain ordinance for new construction. Additional information can also be found from FEMA publications by clicking here.
The Florida Building Code can be viewed on the International Code Council website.
Please click on link to view document regarding repairs to roofs due to hurricane damage.
Repairs to damaged roofs
Apply at the Builders Services Division office. Our hours are from 7 a.m. until 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. Checklists showing the items required to be submitted for a permit are available on our Forms page.
The barrier requirements can be found in Chapter 45 of the 6th Edition Residential Building Code. The Department of Health website also has valuable information. Just click here.
All new structures other than one and two family dwellings must comply with the Florida Fire Prevention Code and be reviewed and inspected accordingly. All existing structures must also comply with Chapter 43, NFPA 101 of the Florida Fire Prevention Code and be reviewed and inspected accordingly.
A complete submittal for a residential permit may take up to seven days for plan review and permitting. Commercial projects may take fourteen days or longer depending upon the complexity A life-safety plan review is required for all structures other than one and two family dwellings subject to the Residential Building Code.
Typically, as long as work is being performed on the project, the permit is valid. It is required to obtain a valid inspection to verify ongoing construction. If 180 days elapse without an approved inspection, your permit expires.
The cost will depend on the intended use, size and type of construction of the building. A building permit for a typical 2,000 s.f. site-built, single-family dwelling, the permit fee plus plan review fee plus state surcharge would be $746.20 plus any impact fees. Sub-permits are sold separately. View more information on permit fees (PDF).
Inspection requests may be called in or emailed. They must be in before 4 p.m. to be scheduled for the next business day.
Planning and Zoning provides flood zone information for unincorporated Bay County. You may contact our Planning and Zoning Department at 850-248-8250.
Manufactured homes are regulated by the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles under section 320.823 of the Florida Statutes. The installation standards can be found in the Florida Administrative Code Rule 15C-1.0101 through 15C-1.0109 along with Rule 15C2-001 through 15C-2.011. The setup and installation is inspected by the building department after a permit is issued. All mobile homes must be installed by a licensed installer. HUD homes are not subject to the Florida Building Codes but site built additions to the home such as decks and stairs or added rooms must meet the Florida Building Code, Residential. Please click here for additional information regarding wind zones and renovations to homes.